Rollin’ On The River takes Animation Trophy, 10th Award in 11 Years!

2016 Animation Trophy Winner "Rollin' On The River"

Posted 1/1/16 – “Rollin’ On The River”, Sierra Madre Rose Float Association’s 2016 entry in the Tournament of Roses Parade, was the town’s 84th entry, going back to 1917. And for the tenth time in eleven years, SMRFA’s entry has won an award, The Animation Trophy, described by the Tournament as “Best Animation and Motionl.”

Congratulations to the Sierra Madre Rose Float Association for winning AGAIN!

In 2006, the “Wonder of Reading”, designed by Charles Meier, took the Founder’s Banner Trophy, for the most spectacular float built and decorated by volunteers from a community or organization. In 2007, “Our Wonderful Wistaria” designed by Charles Meier was the winner of the Lathrop K. Leishman Award, for most beautiful non-commercial float. 2008’s “Valentine’s Day”, again designed by Charles Meier, won the Princesses’ Award, for most beautiful float 35′ and under. In 2009, SMRFA and Meier’s streak continued with “Bollywood Dreams”, which again brought home the Lathrop K. Leishman Award, for most beautiful non-commercial float. In 2010, “California Girls”, designed by Dick Sappington, won the Governor’s Award for best depiction of life in California. Sierra Madre also got the Governor’s Award in 2011 for “Suenos de California”, again designed by Meier.

Gorgeous as it was, 2012’s Colorful Imagination did not garner any awards, but 2013’s “The Sky’s the Limit” put SMRFA back in the winner’s circle, taking home the Mayor’s Trophy. The Sky’s the Limit was designed by Charles Meier from a concept drawing by Sierra Madre resident Maria Murray. In 2014, “Catching the Big One” was a winner. Charles Meier was once again the designer.
In 2015, SMRFA’s entry “I Think I Can” based on the little train that could, and dedicated to Robert Young, longtime president of SMRFA who passed away in July, won The Mayor’s Trophy. The entry included the phrase “Forever Young” at the back of the train in his honor.

And now, for the tenth time in eleven years, SMRFA has done it again, with “Rollin’ On The River” taking the Animation Trophy! Congratulations SMRFA!